Python-ing


Over the last couple of weeks, I’ve tried learning Python. It’s not as far from Java as someone would say, I’d actually call it one of the closest to the language. 🙂 I learned the language for one primary reason, I want to automate a process. I have the logical design, process flow, but I don’t want to use my comfort level language which is Java cause… we’ll it’s to comfy.

1st off, when and where to learn. A great deal of tutorials are all over the web! There’s no excuse for not learning it, even the advance stuff. It’s all about using your creativity to use the language.  

http://www.learnpython.org/

2nd, the tools. I’m using PyDev plugin for Eclipse – so Eclipse IDE plus a a python interpreter.

PyDev_-_PyDevSample1_sample_package_sample_py_-_Eclipse_-__Users_alvinreyes_EclipseProjects_Python

3rd, learn a web framework (optional). Well this is not really required. I tried learning Django and made a simple registration application with it. It’s not as simple as using CakePHP or CI, but it does the job. It has a “bake” like command that generates model that can be used in your application, as well as controller and view level (modules) scaffoldings. Very neat, but not as neat as Cake.

 

I had fun using and trying to achieve something with it, especially when I’m trying to parse through an XML file to get the nodes and its values. I’m trying to create a automated process to deploy our apps in a Weblogic console given an XML formatted or JSON file as a parameter. Simple and Straight forward. I’ll roll it out when the right time comes.

One thought on “Python-ing

  1. You share interesting things here. I think that your website can go viral easily,
    but you must give it initial boost and i know how to
    do it, just type in google for – wcnu traffic increase

Leave a Reply

