Eclipse – Java Desktop Application Development using WindowsBuilder


Ever since Google acquired Instantiations, primarily because of their GWT Builder. They made a point that their very useful products will be open sourced.

And since I titled this blog post as “Eclipse Java Desktop Application Development” – I’ll introduce you the WindowsBuilder tool that really eats the VE (Eclipse Visual Editor) alive. 🙂

WindowsBuilder in Eclipse:

Eclipse Update Site:  http://download.eclipse.org/windowbuilder/WB/release/R201109201200/3.5/ – Eclipse Platform 3.5

The WindowBuilder in my opinion, better than NetBeans Visual Editor. It doesn’t lock up the entire code unlike NetBeans do. Its a perfect plugin if you’re trying to develop a simple Java Desktop Application, it has the very “noob-friendly” palette where all the components are categorized and placed and some basic development tools, such as “look and feel” button to preview the design in different OS perspective. With the addition of the Eclipse Platform and its known flexibility features, it will really bring more capabilities in terms of development agility.

I’ll post a basic tutorial on using the Plugin so stay tuned. 🙂

14 thoughts on “Eclipse – Java Desktop Application Development using WindowsBuilder

  1. m not getting palette window after accomplished above process successfully, please let me know soon where i did wrong.

  2. hi, i follow the above process as explained but i didn’t get palette window, please let me know warmly where i went wrong.

  3. Hi! Thanks for your posts!

    The palette will automatically be available after the installation. If not, check the opener for the source code (open with). Its possible that it still uses the Java source code viewer. (Open with > WindowBuilder Editor).

  4. Pingback: JavaPins
  5. hiiiiii, any body help me to give any website to know about eclipse task to develop desktop application i am beginner in eclipse
    please give me website address to know about eclipse my email id :sanjaydewangan91@gmail.com

  6. Good day! I know this is somewhat off topic but I was wondering which blog platform are
    you using for this site? I’m getting tired of WordPress because I’ve had issues with hackers aand I’m looking aat options for
    another platform. I would be great if you could poinjt me
    in the direction of a good platform.

  7. hi.. i want to create a vacation planner project in java.
    All the employees should be able to open the application and update the leave details. it should go to manager’s approval. i have only MS access database.

    what should i do ? can i create the project in eclipse ?
    if i create web app how will host ? or i can go with desktop application ? it is for around 50 employees.

    can i keep project in share folder and can everyone access ?

    please guide me. i am really confused .

    thanks

    • Thank you for your feedback.

      You can create the project either in Eclipse or any Java Development IDE. It seems that you want to create a workflow on your application so that a higher role can approve a specific action. You can always to with creating a Web Application as it seems this will be accessed by more than 10 people.

      Contact me via alvinpermelonareyes@gmail.com and let’s talk about your problem. I can guide you through your development.

Leave a Reply

