The Bulging Capacitor and the search for a spare RAM


Busy day working on a strange PC issue. I was told that the PC I fixed before is now having issues again! Its not starting up.

Weird, I manage to get it up and running.

After the cleanup, even weirder! its not working again and now, with those long beeps.

According to AWARD (bios manufacturer), it seems that Long Continuous Beeps is an effect of undetected DRAM.

I guess the problem is with RAM – and since I don’t have any “spare RAMS” in here, I might as well go to a PC shop and buy one.

The PC Shop IT personnel, agrees that the cause of this is the RAM, yet after checking the motherboard, he noticed that some of the Capacitors already bulged – and concludes that we can still use the PC temporarily if I were to replace the RAM yet, it would be better to replace the motherboard instead since it will still intermittently crash and in the process, might corrupt important information.

Although I haven’t tried putting a new RAM on the PC, the point is, even though I would be able to get it up and running, It would still crash and can be very unfortunate to the user especially if there are important information stored in it.

Anyone got a spare RAM? Can I borrow please? :p

3 thoughts on “The Bulging Capacitor and the search for a spare RAM

  1. I always recommend motherboards with full solid capacitors so that you won’t have problems with those weak and cheap “bulging” capacitors. For RAM, it will save you headaches if you buy branded RAM with warranty. Memory chips are quite delicate so I test them periodically when I encounter problems. If you have an Ubuntu live CD, you can use its memory test tool for complete diagnostics.

  2. I agree with what you said regarding the RAM – I usually look for branded and reliable brands (such as Corsair). The PC above uses a RedFox RAM, I actually don’t know that RedFox also manufacture RAMs (I though they only supply them bundled with the actual PC/Laptop) so I cannot say anything about the quality yet , but I’m assuming its an above average brand, just because of their products I guess. :p

    Thanks for the tip. Will definitively try that!

  3. I do trust all the ideas you’ve presented for your post. They are very convincing and can certainly work. Still, the posts are very short for starters. May you please lengthen them a little from subsequent time? Thank you for the post.

Leave a Reply

